7 New Faces in Terengganu Exco

The 10-member state executive council was sworn in before the Regent of Terengganu Tengku Muhammad Ismail Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin yesterday. 10 April 2008

Among those present at the ceremony, held at Istana Maziah, were the three members of the Regency Advisory Council, state secretary Datuk Mokhtar Nong, former menteri besar Datuk Seri Idris Jusoh as well as several Pas assemblymen. The exco includes seven new faces.
Menteri Besar Datuk Ahmad Said is also the chairman for the state Planning, Finance and Investment as well as the Land, Petroleum and Natural Resources Committees. He also kept his former portfolio as the Local Government and Housing chairman.

The three returning councillors are are Toh Chin Yaw, who is the Industrial, Trade and Environment Committee chairman; Datuk Abdul Rahin Mohd Said, the Youth and Sports Committee chairman and Datuk Mohamed Awang Tera, the Rural, Entrepreneurial and state Co-operative Development Committee chairman.

The others are Ahmad Razif Abd Rahman (Education, Higher Learning, Science, Technology and Human Resource); Yahaya Khatib Mohamad (Infrastructure and Public Amenities Development); Asha'ari Idris (Welfare, Women and Community Development); Datuk Za'abar Mohd Adib (Tourism, Culture, Arts and Heritage); Khazan Che Mat (Religion and Information); Rozi Mamat (Agriculture and Agro-based Industry) and Dr A. Rahman Mokhtar (Health, Unity and Consumer Affairs).

At a press conference after the first exco meeting at Wisma Darul Iman later that afternoon, Ahmad Said said he wanted the exco members to focus on their portfolios and give their best service to the rakyat. He reiterated that his main aim was to reduce poverty in the state and create more jobs for the locals. He said the exco members would seek an audience with the Yang di-Pertuan Agong on Monday.

New Strait Times Resources